An inaugural meeting to form a croquet club in Wanganui was held in the old Wanganui YMCA on 26 September 1921. The first opening day was 8 December 1921.
Initially the Wanganui Croquet Club rented 2 lawns at Victoria Park, adjacent to the current Greens. By September 1922 four lawns were in use and at the 1922 AGM, the name Victoria Park Croquet Club was adopted.
In 1924 fundraising for a new Pavillion commenced. Our new amenity, shared with the adjacent Victoria Park Tennis Club, opened on 15 December 1925.
The membership continued to grow and in 1927 a 7th lawn was laid down. In 1942 the current Memorial entrance gates were erected in memory of the late Mrs Falconer, a Club stalwart. In the Winter of 1948, club volunteers filled in the front of the Pavillion and added terraced seating."Over the past 100 years, our Club has weathered many storms, financial depressions, the Great World War, associated food and fuel rationing, a fire in the Clubhouse and fluctuating membership. To overcome such obstacles and remain a vibrant and healthy organisation such as it is today, requires passion, energy and determination from dedicated members which seems to have persisted throughout its existence." Terry Coxon 2021